Local, state, federal races on Robeson ballots Tuesday

By Sarah Willets - swillets@civitasmedia.com

LUMBERTON — With early voting complete, Robeson voters have one more chance to make their picks for local, state and federal offices: Election Day.

The polls open Tuesday at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.

There are 39 polling places throughout Robeson County. To find out where you should vote, visit vt.ncsbe.gov/pollingplace_search.

Hurricane Matthew has caused some changes for Election Day in Robeson County. Two polling places have been moved because of storm-related damage and a third, Bill Sapp Recreation Center, was relocated because that building is still being used as an emergency shelter.

The Precinct 17 polling place, West Lumberton Hut on Buchanan Street, will be moved about one mile to the O.P. Owens Agriculture Building at 455 Caton Road. The Precinct 16 site, South Lumberton Resource Center on Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, will be moved about one mile to Lumberton Fire Department No. 3, 801 Dunn Road. The Bill Sapp site will be moved three blocks to Pine Street Senior Center, 801 N. Pine St.

As of Saturday morning, 17,046 early ballots had been cast in Robeson ahead of Tuesday’s election, according to the state Board of Elections.

Despite worries that residents would have other matters on their minds besides voting following Hurricane Matthew’s devastation, early voting has been on par with the last presidential election year. In 2012, 42,496 Robeson voters made their pick for president, including 17,189 who voted early.

There are 14 different ballots in Robeson, depending on where you live. You can search for your registration and see your sample ballot at vt.ncsbe.gov/voter_search_public. Voters will not be required to present a photo ID in order to vote.

There are few contested local races on the ballot for Robeson County voters.

Incumbent District 5 commissioner Raymond Cummings will face challenger Lynn Locklear in his bid for re-election. Cummings, a Democrat, has served as a commissioner for 20 years. Locklear, a Republican, is seeking his first elected office and hopes to become the Board of Commissioners’ second Republican member.

Incumbent commissioners Jerry Stephens in District 1 and Tom Taylor in District 7 are unopposed.

Robeson voters will also have a choice for the District 13 Senate seat, where incumbent Jane Smith is facing Lumberton attorney Danny Britt. Smith, a Democrat, has served one term in the Senate. Britt is a Republican.

Three candidates are vying for the North Carolina House District 46 seat vacated by Ken Waddell. District 46 includes parts of Eastern Robeson County. The candidates are Republican Brenden Jones, Democrat Tim Benton and Libertarian Thomas Howell.

Rep. Charles Graham and Rep. Garland Pierce are unopposed in their bids for re-election to the House District 47 and District 48 seats, respectively.

Voters in Robeson County will also pick who they want to represent the Congressional 9th District they are now a part of following re-districting earlier this year. Republican Robert Pittenger, who currently holds that seat, will go up against Democrat and businessman Christian Cano.

U.S. Sen. Richard Burr, a Republican, is in a tight race for a third term in the Senate against Democrat Deborah Ross.

At the top of all Robeson tickets will be the presidential race. In the March primary, Donald Trump won 50.86 percent of Republicans’ votes, while Hillary Clinton won 50.98 percent of votes cast by Robeson Democrats.

Gov. Pat McCrory, a Republican, and challenger Roy Cooper, a Democrat and the state’s attorney general, are separated by razor thin majors in the gubernatorial race.

There are 50,620 registered Democrats in Robeson County, 9,478 registered Republicans, 175 Libertarians and 15,389 unaffiliated voters for a total of 75,662 registered voters.


By Sarah Willets


Sarah Willets can be reached at 910-816-1974 or on Twitter @Sarah_Willets.

Sarah Willets can be reached at 910-816-1974 or on Twitter @Sarah_Willets.

comments powered by Disqus